My 10 Somethings for the Month of May

May was a month of beginnings and ends, of surprises and new experiences. Out of all the months I’ve covered in my Somethings posts, this one might be the most filled with important happenings.

Something New

I was formally interviewed for a job for the first time! I was pretty nervous, to be honest, but it went well. Did I get the job? No, only because I would be missing orientation.

Something Fun

I had a graduation party! At first I was anxious about being a host (no, not to an alien parasite), but in the end I had a blast! I was overwhelmed with gratefulness at everyone’s support. My introverted self wanted to curl up in some obscure corner for a year after the party, but I still enjoyed myself.

Grad pic.jpg
Hanging out with friends at the partyme

Something Achieved

I graduated High School! It’s strange; a huge part of my life is over, for good. Time to move on and be an adult! *less enthusiastically* Yay.

 

Grad pic at ceremony
Seriously, who invented those weird caps and gowns?

 

Something Cool

This month I went on a trip to New Hampshire with my family. We hiked, rock jumped, watched whales, and had an all around good time appreciating each other’s company and God’s creation.

This guy was really close! I shall name him Leo.

Something Random

I got to pet a baby cow!

I warned you it was random, but it made me happy.

Something Sad

As I mentioned earlier, my family left on a trip to New Hampshire. When we came back, we discovered that our indoor/outdoor cat, Sally, had drowned in our pool.

From pushing open my door at night to joining me on the piano bench as I played my favorite song, Sally was a blessing wrapped up in white fur. I’ll miss you fluff ball.

Sally
Sally

Something Related to Writing

My goals were:

-Write an article for Kingdom Pen: Did I achieve this? Sort of. I haven’t finished the article yet (but don’t tell anyone :).

-Write a non-fiction article for another website: No. But I may have stumbled upon a good idea, an idea so good I might end up saving it for this blog instead of the intended website. Ah well.

Finish editing my current novel/WIP (work in progress), Eclipse Awakening:

how to train your dragon toothless love - Google Search:
Source:https://www.pinterest.com/pin/81979655697239663/

I did not finish editing EA, and to be entirely honest I don’t think I will. I’m not continuing the series (to my knowledge. The voices in my head might say otherwise someday), and have already moved on to a more promising idea. It’s all a bit depressing, if I do say so myself.

Alright, enough of the writer counseling session.

-Blogging: I think I was rather successful at posting last month, so yes I did achieve this part. Chinese food!🍜🍣

-Outline and world build my next planned WIP (work in progress):

This one is complicated. You see, I outlined the basics of the plot, so it is on paper. I did a lot of world building compared to my previous world building attempts, but I still haven’t finished that part of the process.

I have, however, started writing the book itself. I tried to hold myself back, but I was so excited about my new characters that I had to start. Shame on me, I know.

And it is no longer the nameless WIP. I’m currently calling it Rook.

My goals for June:

-Write Rook

-Blog

-Finish my KP article

-Work on a mystery writing project (cue evil laugh)

-Write one or two Sam stories (yay!)

Something Refreshing

I enjoy hanging out with other writers in online writing communities. The writers in these communities are usually book worms.

And when I say they’re book worms, I mean they obsess and rant and love books to a thousand pieces.

Don’t get me wrong, this is great. People should read. However, being surrounded by all these crazy book worms reminds me that I haven’t been reading. It’s discouraging when everyone around me is going on about some great book that I should have already read. It’s not that I don’t want to read, but writing comes first, and it’s hard to balance the two without giving most of my time to one or the other.

But the week before my vacation and during my vacation itself, I read not one, not two, but five books (and a novella)! Here’s three of the five I read:

A Time To Rise: The book was satisfying and surprising, a great end to a fantastic series. I seriously recommend this book. The main character is one of the most realistic (and awesome) characters I’ve spent time with.

A Time to Rise
Source:http://nadinebrandes.com/books/a-time-to-rise/

Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25: If I wasn’t so addicted to rich language and deep POVs I would have liked this book. It was written on a lower reading level, so I shouldn’t judge it too harshly (though my inner writer was bothering me the whole time, crying SHOW NOT TELL!  WHAT IS HE FEELING? I’M NOT CONNECTING WITH THIS CHARACTER CAUSE YOU WON’T SHOW ME HIS REACTIONS! The entire time).

Source: http://www.michaelvey.com/books.php

 

Throne of Glass: This book contained the stupidest love triangle in the history of stupid love triangles, which was pretty much there for nothing other than romantic tension. I wasn’t happy about it at all and decided not to read the rest of the series.

Source:http://sarahjmaas.com/throneofglass/

Something Exciting

Starting Rook. I think I drove my friends crazy talking about it.

Something Cool

An article of mine was published on Kingdom Pen!  A little flash of panic raced through me when I realized the article was officially up on the site. Kingdom Pen is the biggest platform I’ve been published on. A lot of people can read my writing. I guess a mini panic attack is just my knee-jerk reaction to public exposure.

Well guys, I’m officially a graduate. I suppose I have to go change the world now.

Have a terrific week!

-Gabrielle Pollack (A.K.A. The Great Rising Puzzlement)

8 thoughts on “My 10 Somethings for the Month of May

  1. Gabby, great post! Madeline and I were so sad to hear about Sally:( Glad you had a wonderful vacation in NH. What age level is the A Time To Rise series?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! 🙂 The series is aimed at young adults or older. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it for kids younger than 13 because of some scary and occasionally disturbing content.

      Like

  2. Okay, so I was going to say something cool and mature and grown up about one thing or another that you said here… but then…
    YOU JUST READ “A TIME TO RISE”? I am in the middle of it right now… and it is so great. The whole series has been so great.
    Anyway, also congrats on the Kingdom Pen post. We are glad to have you! And your article was awesome, BTW.

    Like

    • Haha don’t pretend to be cool and mature we know you aren’t. 😛
      YES I DID READ IT! IT IS FANTASTIC! I couldn’t stop reading. Who’s your favorite character?
      *bows* thank you. 🙂

      Like

    • 🙂 I think that article will be one of my favorites (that I’ve written anyway 🙂 )

      Hmmm… Rook… I now face the age old problem of trying to distil the essence of my book into something less than a few paragraphs. 🙂

      It’s a fantasy, so it’s set in another world, specifically a republic of four islands with different climates. It follows Rook, a dedicated, abet slightly insensitive bodyguard who’s given a female client for the first time. He’s managed to avoid all female clients up to this point, so he’s not happy about it and intentionally tries to get fired. Long story short his client turns out to be a bit more important than Rook first thought and he’s thrown against a powerful politician and his minions in an attempt to protect her.

      That’s the general idea anyway. 🙂 Thanks for asking.

      😀 I’m glad you like the name. *whispers* You want to know a secret? I didn’t come up with it. A friend decided to make up a title for me using my initials, so she dubbed me the Great Rising Puzzlement. 🙂 I declared her the Terrible Candy Eater. 😀

      Also, have we written together at Writer’s Corner over at KP?

      I’m pretty sure this is the longest comment I’ve ever written. 🙂

      Like

  3. Your book sounds intriguing. I’ve noticed you seem to like to write from a guy’s point of view, which is funny because I do too! I don’t know why, but for some reason most of my protagonists end up being male (and I’m not even a tomboy). 😊

    Actually, I only joined the KP forum a week ago and I’ve been going through some of their posts. I’m going to have a poem published on KP sometime in the next two months *so excited*. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yea, I don’t know why I like writing from guy POV’s so much, though I suppose I’m a little more rough-and-tumble than most girls. 🙂

      Oh so you’ve been stalking us! 🙂 Cool! I’ll have to read your poem when it comes out! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

