I Was Not Eaten By Whales (My Trip to New Hampshire)

Hey guys!

My family likes to travel. We’ve visited almost all fifty states. Now that my sister and I are older, however, our epic journeys are coming to a close, thanks to college and adulting. My family wanted to fit in at least one last hurrah, so we decided to head out to New Hampshire.
Mind you, I didn’t remember New Hampshire from our previous trip, excluding a few details. I didn’t know where we were going. I didn’t know what we’d be doing, other than whale watching and hiking. Despite my lack of knowledge, I gladly jumped in the car for the fifteen (and a half) hour drive, ready for an adventure with my family.

Get ready for a flood of pictures.

Day 1 (Sunday): Five Hours of Parvin Blackwater

After church and two grad parties, my family packed the car and headed out.

Highlights:

  • I’m one of those weird people who loves long car rides, so I enjoyed the five hour trip to our first hotel. My immersion  in a book called A Time to Rise had nothing to do with my enjoyment I’m sure.
  • The book was awesome, by the way.
  • We made it to our first hotel alive! Yay!

Day 2 (Monday): I Discover my Growing Dislike of Long Car Rides

Did I say I loved long car rides? Monday I wasn’t feeling the love. About a third of the way through, my back started hurting. It wasn’t fun.

Highlights:

  • I took pictures pretty much every time I got out of the car. Behold!
  • We reached our hotel in Lincoln, NH! It’s actually a resort, but same difference.
  • The bouquet of flowers I took with me survived the car ride (my sister gave me flowers after my graduation ceremony, so I decided to take some with me to New Hampshire so I would have a chance to enjoy them. I know, I’m strange).
Graduation flowers
My grad flowers

Day 3 (Tuesday): I Realize I Have a Strange Obsession with Bridges

Day three dawned bright. Well, I don’t know if the dawn was bright. I slept through it.

Anyway, day three was the real start of our vacation and one of the crown jewels of the trip.

Highlights:

  • Jumping in puddles to the disapproval of my sister.
  • Taking off my shoes and walking barefoot on the trail, to the disapproval of my mother.
  • Wandering through the forest, traipsing over washed out bridges and mud patches.

Behold again!.

 

  • I discovered that walking across a log above water isn’t as easy as it looks. See the picture below? Hannah’s the one in pink, smiling confidently at the camera. I’m in blue, staring at the water in terror. Yes, I’m a wimp.
The water didn’t look scary from the land.
  • I discovered I have a strange obsession with bridges. Here’s one:

Yes another Bridge

And another, though this is the underside of a bridge:

My obsession with bridges3

And another:My obsession with bridgespsd

And one more.My obsession with bridges 2

 Day 4, Wednesday: I Was Not Eaten By Whales

Whale watching was the second crown jewel of our trip. I was not expecting to fall in love with whales, but I did. They’re kinda ugly but beautiful at the same time.

Behold is getting a little old. Observe!

Highlights:

  • We didn’t die in traffic. The highway we took to Gloucester, MA was rife with crazy drivers. The same could be said about Gloucester itself. It was an interesting experience, to say the least. I don’t think the pedestrians of Gloucester feared cars. That or they had a death wish.
  • I discovered I didn’t have sea legs. That doesn’t seem like much of a highlight, but at first I thought I could handle the rocking of the boat. It was comical when I failed.
  • We saw four Humpbacks and three other whales. Two of the Humpbacks were named Highlighter and Badge.
  • One whale surfaced so close to the boat we got sprayed. Luckily it was only water and not whale snot (is that even a thing?).
  • At the hotel/resort, my family all went down to the exercise room. My mom, sister, and dad were all exercising hard core. I tried almost every machine in the room before getting bored and grabbing my laptop to write. As horrible as it is, I found exercise unexciting.

Day 5, Thursday: The End Has Come.

Though it’s painful to say, all good things must come to an end.

Highlights:

  • More hiking (observe the pictures below).

 

  • Rock jumping! This is a proud Pollack tradition where we find a large river full of boulders then precede to leap from rock to rock, trying not to fall into the water. It’s tons of fun. This time I tried it barefoot.
    I’m in red. Hannah’s in pink behind me. Don’t worry, she’s  not falling off the rock, as far as I know.

    That about sums up the vacation! Have you ever been to New Hampshire?

Beware of the whales,

-Gabrielle Pollack (A.K.A. The Great Rising Puzzlement)

12 thoughts on “I Was Not Eaten By Whales (My Trip to New Hampshire)

  1. That looks like so much fun! I’m a southerner, but I loved the time I got to visit New England. Massachusetts drivers seem to have no fear either! And now your pictures make me want to go hiking. 😉 I think I need some bridges, too…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hiking was fantastic, even though I’m not the most in-shape person in the world. 🙂 I wished I could have captured how beautiful it truly was on camera. The photographs fall miserably short of the real thing.
      😀 Everyone needs a bridge. 😉

      Like

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! 🙂 Someone should seriously create a park full of bridges that arc over little streams and rivers. That would be paradise.
      That actually sounds like it would make a good fictional setting. *writes that idea down somewhere* 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That was a cute and succinct summary of our trip. I especially liked your Picts of the flower and the water cascades. I sincerely hope we will be able to journey with you and Hannah again soon…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the kudos. 😀 It was hard to resist the weird, whaleish charm of those creatures. It’s a miracle I didn’t dive into the water to swim with ’em. 😉
      Where have you traveled?

      Like

      • Oh, all over the place, really. Mostly Canada, and the States that aren’t the Western ones. We haven’t been to a HUGE-huge spread of places, but those we do go to, we go a lot. Quebec is probably the coolest place I’ve been to so far.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Your pics are great! For the record, long car rides are great, till your siblings drive you completely insane, I love bridges, jumping in puddles is great, barefoot is life, and there is a reason we are best friends. And pictures are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

