Spider Afternoon

Hi I’m back!

Schools over (for college students anyway). Yay! Congratulations to all the graduates, and to all of you who are still in school, hang in there!

I don’t like spiders. I can deal with them, but they are not my friends. I know spiders eat the annoying flies and bugs that would take over the world if not kept in check, but to me, spiders are like buzzards; their helpful, but nasty. I don’t like them around. I’ve heard that spiders are likely more scared of me than I am of them, but this hasn’t served as much of a comfort to me. I would be more than happy if spiders left me alone, but these creepy critters pop up again and again, as if  they really enjoy creeping me out. Or perhaps they want to be on my blog. I haven’t determined which is their real motive.

So I was at Cedarville University, sitting against the brick wall of the Center for Biblical and Theological Studies in one of the only dry spots under the building’s overhang. The air was warm and wet, and a hail storm had just passed. I was minding my own business, munching on a bag of potato chips and enjoying the atmosphere when I caught a glimpse of something crawling toward me. And believe it or not, it wasn’t a spider.

A little red centipede was curving its way toward me its little legs working in harmony. I didn’t want it to crawl on me, so I pushed myself up and waited for it to move along. (Note: I’m not sure if it was a millipede or a centipede. I didn’t have the time nor the desire to count the legs. I looked both up on the internet and the creature could have been either one).

The little bug crawled around for a time, then ventured into a crack between the brick and the concrete. It turns out that crack was the wrong place to explore, because the centepeid crawled out as quickly as it could.

Suddenly, a gray and brown wolf spider, its body about the size of a quarter, jumped out of the crack and grabbed the poor centipede. The centipede squirmed and wiggled, but it couldn’t escape.

I assume the spider had centepeid for dinner.

I was beyond creeped out. My stomach twisted and I’m sure my face showed it. I had been sitting against that wall, above that blood sucking spider only moments before the centipede met it’s horrible fate. As you can imagine, I was no longer enjoying the post-hail atmosphere and decided to leave for the safe, quiet, hopefully spider free haven of the library.

Life lesson to learn from the centipede: Don’t venture into dark, unknown places, where dark eight-legged creatures dwell (a lesson Frodo the hobbit would have profited from. Yes, another LOTR reference).

Hope you all have a great, spider free week!

The Great Rising Puzzlement

One thought on “Spider Afternoon

  1. I do not like spiders, but they are interesting. For example, it is a lot of fun to find a spider web and fling insects into the web and watch the spider wrap them up for later. That said, I am more than happy to keep the spiders outside than invite them to stay inside…

    Like

Leave a Reply

