Random fact #4: HTTP

Good morning!  Here’s my random fact number four…

Did you know that HTTP (those mysterious letters sometimes found in web addresses) stand for HyperText Transfer Protocol?  HTTP is a protocol used to “Transfer” data around the internet. Another type of protocol is HTTPS, which stands for HyperText Transfer Protocol Secure. HTTPS makes it possible to engage in secure transactions on the internet because the data transferred during the HTTPS session is encrypted.

To my thousands of viewers who haven’t found this blog yet,

The Great Rising Puzzlement

Where I got my info

Newton, Harry. <i>Newton’s Telecom Dictionary: The Official Dictionary of Telecommunications & the Internet</i>. 15th ed. New York: Miller-Freeman, 1999. Print.

I also got some of my information from my dad, who is a network administrator.

Leave a Reply

